Trentin Victorious in Stage 10 at Vuelta a Espana

News & Results

08/30/2017| 0 comments

Trentin Victorious in Stage 10 at Vuelta a Espana

Team QuickStep's Matteo Trentin was the fastest man in today's stage at La Vuelta a Espana 2017

Following the initial rest day of this year's Vuelta a Espana, Tuesday's stage 10 invited the professional cycling peloton to contest a 164.8 kilometer route from Caravaca to Alhama de Murcia, which included the category one climb Collado Bermejo (7.7 kilometers at 6.5%) and a subsequent downhill featuring narrow, twisty and treacherous roads.

Initiated by a courageous attack from BMC Racing Team's Rohan Dennis and Michel Kreder of Aqua Blue Sport, the Vuelta peloton had battled for more than 85 kilometers before a successful breakaway group finally formed. Following vicious attacks from within the main peloton, a group featuring 18 riders emerged at the front. The group included Alessandro De Marchi (BMC Racing Team), Julien Bernard (Trek-Segafredo), José Joaquín Rojas, Marc Soler (Movistar), Nico Denz, Alexandre Geniez (AG2R-La Mondiale), Michael Morkov (Katusha-Alpecin), Bert-Jan Lindeman, Juanjo Lobato (LottoNL-Jumbo), Luis León Sánchez (Astana), Valerio Agnoli, Domen Novak (Bahrain-Merida), Arnaud Courteille (FDJ), Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (Dimension Data), Rafael Reis, and Jaime Roson (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA), Niki Terpstra (Quick-Step Floors), and eventual stage winner Matteo Trentin of Team Quick-Step Floors.

In the final 40 kilometers the breakaway group reached the Alto del Morron de Totana category 3 climb where Janse Van Rensburg increased the pace, hoping to secure a sweet victory for his Dimension Data outfit. Janse Van Rensburg had formed a 25 second lead over his breakaway companions when he reached the category one climb of the day - the Collado Bermejo - and Trentin, Rojas and Roson set out to reel in the front man.

The first breakaway group reached the category one climb with a more than five minute lead over the main peloton that included the general classification favorites and current Vuelta a Espana leader Chris Froome of Team Sky Pro Cycling. On the climb the peloton was led by Vincenzo Nibali and his Bahrain Merida team, which was hoping to wear down the dominant Sky team.

With the breakaway group still further up the route, Nibali managed to build a small lead over his fellow general classification favorites on the descent. He was eventually caught by Nicolas Roche (BMC Racing Team), Froome and other GC riders, forming a 15-man line of riders who were competing aggressively as they approached the finishing kilometers.

Meanwhile at the front Trentin and Rojas accelerated from Janse van Rensburg and Roson and it was this duo who would battle for the stage win as it reached the finish line in Alhama de Murcia. Trentin won the sprint and took his second stage victory in the 2017 Vuelta a Espana.

Roche showed great form and courage as he built a lead over other GC riders in the final kilometers and crossed the finish line 29 seconds before Froome, Nibali, Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) and co.

Froome remains overall Vuelta leader before tomorrow's stage 11 - a 187.5 kilometer mountainous route from Lorca to Observatorio Astronómico de Calar Alto, which features two category one climbs. Stage preview: look for the general classification favorites to compete for the stage victory.

2017 Vuelta a Espana - Stage 10 results:
1    Matteo Trentin (Ita) Quick-Step Floors Team       03:34:56
2    Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team    0:00:01    
3    Jaime Roson Garcia (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA    0:00:19    
4    Jacques Janse van Rensburg (RSA) Dimension Data    0:00:21    
5    Alexandre Geniez (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    0:00:56    
6    Marc Soler (Spa) Movistar Team    0:00:59    
7    Luis León Sánchez (Spa) Astana Pro Team    0:02:22    
8    Alessandro De Marchi (Ita) BMC Racing Team         
9    Arnaud Courteille (Fra) Team FDJ    0:02:40    
10    Rafael Reis (Por) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA    0:03:05    
11    Bert-Jan Lindeman (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo    0:03:59    
12    Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC Racing Team    0:04:03    
13    Jack Haig (Aus) Orica-Scott    0:04:32    
14    Julien Bernard (Fra) Trek-Segafredo         
15    Aldemar Reyes (Col) Manzana Postobon         
16    Gianni Moscon (Ita) Team Sky         
17    Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Team Sky         
18    Wout Poels (Ned) Team Sky         
19    Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott         
20    Niki Terpstra (Ned) Quick-Step Floors         
21    Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Trek-Segafredo         
22    David de la Cruz (Spa) Quick-Step Floors         
23    Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Bahrain-Merida         
24    Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky         
25    Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida         
26    Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Orica-Scott         
27    Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo         
28    Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb         
29    Sam Oomen (Ned) Team Sunweb         
30    Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Dimension Data         
31    Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team         
32    Michael Woods (Can) Team Cannondale-Drapac         
33    Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team

2017 Vuelta a Espana - General classification following stage 10:
1    Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky       40:12:44
2    Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Orica-Scott    0:00:36    
3    Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC Racing Team         
4    Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida    0:01:17    
5    Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team    0:01:27    
6    David de la Cruz (Spa) Quick-Step Floors    0:01:30    
7    Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team    0:01:33    
8    Michael Woods (Can) Team Cannondale-Drapac    0:01:52    
9    Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott    0:01:55    
10    Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin    0:02:15    
11    Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb    0:02:31    
12    Sam Oomen (Ned) Team Sunweb    0:03:04    
13    Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Trek-Segafredo    0:03:32    
14    Wout Poels (Ned) Team Sky    0:03:45    
15    Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team    0:04:09    
16    Louis Meintjes (RSA) UAE Team Emirates    0:04:42    
17    Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo    0:04:46    
18    Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Dimension Data    0:05:54    
19    Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Team Sky    0:07:24    
20    Jaime Roson Garcia (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA    0:08:08

Order the gear you need for this season and beyond in our bike shop and subscribe to our training tracker service to track, plan and analyze your training and nutrition. Pro cyclists from Cannondale-Drapac, Orica-Scott and Dimension Data use our training tracker to win professional races such as the Tour de France and Vuelta a Espana: Sign up now.

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment