Trentin Powers to Victory in Stage 13 of Vuelta

News & Results

09/2/2017| 0 comments

Trentin Powers to Victory in Stage 13 of Vuelta

Matteo Trentin has won his third stage victory in Vuelta a Espana 2017

The QuickStep team today reiterated its dominance in professional road cycling by taking its fifth stage victory in this year's Tour of Spain. Matteo Trentin was the fastest man in the long-awaited sprint stage that would offer the fastest riders in the peloton a chance to sparkle under the Spanish sun.

Trentin finished the 198.4 kilometer stage 13 from Coin to Tomares ahead of Gianni Moscon of Team Sky and Sunweb's Soren Kragh Andersen. The stage result had no significant influence on general classification standings. Team Sky's Chris Froome remains overall race leader ahead of Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) and Esteban Chaves of Team Orica-Scott.

The stage was initially dominated by a breakaway quintet featuring Davide Villella (Cannondale-Drapac), Alexis Gougeard (AG2R-La Mondiale), Thomas De Gendt (Lotto-Soudal), Arnaud Courteille (FDJ), and Alessandro De Marchi (BMC Racing Team). The breakaway was later reeled in by Team QuickStep, LottoNL-Jumbo and Team Cannondale-Drapac following Villella's regrouping with the main peloton after having scooped up valuable points for the mountains classification.

"To be completely honest, it wasn't a stage finish that suited me. What was on the road was different and harder than what we had in the roadbook. The guys were again incredible today and rode an amazing race, controlling the escapees, pushing a really hard tempo in the closing kilometers and guiding me in the final. I'm happy for having finished off the job today," stage winner Trentin told

The general classification favorites will saddle up for Saturday's stage 14 from Écija to Sierra de La Pandera hoping to win the stage or advance in the rankings following the 175 kilometer stage, which concludes with a hors categorie climb.

Buy bikes, components, accessories and clothing in our bike shop and subscribe to our training tracker service to plan, track and analyze your cycling training. Pro cyclists from Cannondale-Drapac, Orica-Scott and Dimension Data use our training tracker to win professional races: Sign up now.

2017 Vuelta a Espana - Stage 13 results:
1    Matteo Trentin (Ita) Quick-Step Floors Pro Cycling Team       04:25:13
2    Gianni Moscon (Ita) Team Sky Pro Cycling    
3    Soren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb         
4    Michael Schwarzmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe         
5    Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) Team Cannondale-Drapac
6    Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida         
7    Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky         
8    Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb         
9    Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Trek-Segafredo         
10    Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC Racing Team         
11    Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team Lotto NL - Jumbo         
12    Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team         
13    Michael Woods (Can) Team Cannondale-Drapac    
14    Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Orica-Scott         
15    Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe

2017 Vuelta a Espana - General classification following stage 13:
1    Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky Pro Cycling       53:48:06
2    Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida    0:00:59    
3    Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Orica-Scott    0:02:13    
4    Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb    0:02:17    
5    David de la Cruz (Spa) Quick-Step Floors    0:02:23    
6    Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin    0:02:25    
7    Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team    0:02:37    
8    Michael Woods (Can) Team Cannondale-Drapac    0:02:41    
9    Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Trek-Segafredo    0:03:13    
10    Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team    0:03:58    
11    Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC Racing Team    0:04:25    
12    Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team    0:04:32    
13    Sam Oomen (Ned) Team Sunweb    0:04:48    
14    Wout Poels (Ned) Team Sky Pro Cycling    0:05:01    
15    Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team Lotto NL - Jumbo    0:05:50    
16    Louis Meintjes (RSA) UAE Team Emirates    0:06:26    
17    Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA    0:10:16    
18    Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Team Sky Pro Cycling    0:12:13    
19    Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Dimension Data    0:13:27    
20    Darwin Atapuma (Col) UAE Team Emirates    0:21:14

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment