Evenepoel Wins Stage 1 of Giro d’Italia 2023

News & Results

05/6/2023| 0 comments
by Roadcycling.com
Remco Evenepoel celebrates his stage 1 victory on the Giro d'Italia podium
Remco Evenepoel leads Giro d'Italia 2023 following today's stage 1 time trial RCS Sport - LaPresse

Evenepoel Wins Stage 1 of Giro d’Italia 2023

Remco Evenepoel has drawn first blood in this year’s Giro d’Italia

Giro d’Italia 2023 commenced today with a 19.6-kilometer individual time trial from Fossacesia Marina to Ortona. The stage 1 route followed the coastal Costa dei Trabocchi cycle path and concluded with a short climb to the center of the Ortona town situated next to the Adriatic coast.

Ortona is known for its historic role in the Byzantine Empire, for the Cathedral of Saint Thomas that holds the relics of Saint Thomas the Apostle, for its harbor and coastal region activities, and for its beaches that attract many tourists.

By including no less than three time trials in this year’s race, the Giro d’Italia organizers had succeeded at attracting a record number of national time trial champions to this year’s Giro d’Italia and a number of other time trial experts were also part of the start list.

Favorites to take the victory in the stage 1 individual time trial were Italian National Time Trial Champion Filippo Ganna (Ineos-Grenadiers), World Champion Remco Evenepoel (Soudal-QuickStep), Josef Cerny (Soudal-QuickStep), Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ), Primoz Roglic (Team Jumbo-Visma), Rohan Dennis (Team Jumbo-Visma), Joao Almeida (UAE Team Emirates), Rigoberto Uran (EF Education-EasyPost), Edoardo Affini (Team Jumbo-Visma), and 2018 Tour de France Champion Geraint Thomas (Ineos-Grenadiers).

Stefan de Bod set an early fastest time and entered the hot seat for his EF Education-EasyPost team. De Bod’s finish time was 00:22:32 and his average speed was 52.189 km/h.

Later, De Bod’s best time was beaten by Denmark’s Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) and De Bod would have to enjoy his salad lunch in the team bus instead of in the hot seat.

UAE Team Emirates’ Brandon McNulty was next to set the fastest time. His time in the hot seat was limited, however, as teammate Jay Vine finished two seconds faster than the American.

Ineos-Grenadiers rider Tao Geoghegan Hart had shown great form so far this season by winning Tour of the Alps. He was also fast in today’s individual time trial and beat Vine’s finish time.

UAE Team Emirates’ Joao Almeida then replaced Geoghegan Hart in the hot seat after having delivered an impressive performance.

Geraint Thomas (Ineos-Grenadiers) had set the fastest time at intermediate points 1 and 2, but he lost time on the climb to the finish line and crossed the finish line in fifth place.

Remco Evenepoel (Soudal-QuickStep) then set the fastest time, remarkably improving the best time so far by no less than 29 seconds.

Italian National Time Trial Champion Filippo Ganna finished second and failed to take an additional Giro time trial victory.

General classification favorite Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) delivered a disappointing performance by finishing sixth in today’s stage 1 time trial.

Evenepoel won the stage 1 time trial in 00:21:18. Ganna finished second (22 seconds behind the winner) and Almeida third, 29 seconds behind Evenepoel.

Stay tuned to Roadcycling.com for complete coverage from Giro d’Italia 2023.

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment