Team SKY to Ride Pinarello Bikes

News & Results

10/9/2009| 0 comments
by Dave Osborne

Team SKY to Ride Pinarello Bikes

Team SKY has signed a three-year agreement with Pinarello.

Team Sky earlier today announced that it has signed a three-year technical partner deal with Italian Bike manufacturer Cicli Pinarello.
Pinarello, who have been making bikes for more than five decades, will supply the frames, forks, seat posts and headsets to the new professional road team. The announcement brings the first major technical partner to Team Sky and follows the award of a UCI Pro Tour Licence to the team.

Founded in 1952 and based in Treviso, Italy, Pinarello has real heritage in road racing having created bikes for a number of successful professional teams and seen its bikes win the Tour de France eight times.

Announcing the deal, Fausto Pinarello, President of Cicli Pinarello said: “We are very happy with this new partnership. Team Sky’s goal of becoming one of the world’s leading cycling teams, fits with our objective of continuing and growing our presence as one of the world’s leading bicycle manufacturers. We have signed a 3 year agreement and we look forward to a long, prosperous and successful collaboration.”
Dave Brailsford, Team Principal for Team Sky said: “We are thrilled to be riding Pinarello bikes. Joining up with this great producer is a crucial step for Team Sky. With Pinarello we have found the perfect partner to supply and develop an extraordinary line of bikes for our riders.
Brailsford added that “The choice of bike has been a key decision. From the first talks, we found an immediate understanding with Pinarello on what this team is about; performance and perfection. The ways that Pinarello combine their life-long passion for the bike with the latest technology are genuinely inspired.  Pinarello are now a fundamental part of the team and will help our relentless efforts to have the best possible tools for Team Sky.”
To date, Team Sky has revealed 16 riders for the new team with more to be announced.  Six British riders - Geraint Thomas, Steve Cummings, Pete Kennaugh, Chris Froome, Ian Stannard and Russell Downing – line up with ten international riders; Edvald Boasson Hagen, Thomas Lovkvist, Kurt Arvesen, Simon Gerrans, Juan Antonio Flecha, Kjell Carlstrom, John Lee Augustyn, Greg Henderson, Lars Petter Nordhaug and Morris Possoni.
The initial squad of around 25 riders will be supported by a team of coaches, technicians and support staff drawn from across the cycling world, many of whom work throughout the year with British elite and developing riders. Team Sky will compete from the start of 2010, beginning with the 2010 Tour Down Under, and hopes to gain an invitation to the 2010 Tour de France.

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment