Team Bissell Announces 2010 Roster

News & Results

10/7/2009| 0 comments
by Gerald Churchill

Team Bissell Announces 2010 Roster

Bissell announces new and returning riders for the exciting 2010.

The BISSELL Pro Cycling Team has announced the signing of its first 10 riders for the 2010 season, including seven returning riders and three additions to the team roster.

BISSELL Homecare will remain the team owner and title sponsor, as part of the company’s commitment to healthy living inside and outside of the home, and its support of competitive cycling throughout the world.  Team manager Glen Mitchell and team director Eric Wohlberg will also continue in their roles for 2010.  The team’s lineup of riders, sponsors and other supporters will help it achieve its 2010 goal to return as the commanding team in the United States. In 2009, BISSELL Pro Cycling captured the overall team classification wins at top U.S. races, the Tour of Gila, Joe Martin Stage Race, Mt. Hood and the Nature Valley Grand Prix.
Ben Jacques-Maynes leads the team after another strong year, in which he demonstrated his ability to compete against the world’s best through his outstanding results at the Tour of California, Nevada City and Tour of Missouri. Co-leader Frank Pipp will support Jacques-Maynes with his wealth of experience and ability to captain the riders -- a major part of the team’s success in 2009.  New Zealand time trial champion, Jeremy Vennell and all-around powerhouse, Andy Jacques-Maynes, will also return and provide depth to the roster.
New to the 2010 team is criterium strongman, Kyle Wamsley. Wamsley’s 2009 results include two top-five stage finishes at the Tour of Missouri, as well as a stage win and the overall points jersey at the Redlands Classic. In 2008, Wamsley won the overall at the Fitchberg Classic and took the NRC victory at the Cox Charities Cycling Classic. Current New Zealand criterium champion Pete Latham will add to BISSELL’s threat in the sprint.
Returning rider, Paul Mach showed that he was a climber to contend with in 2009 – his first year as a pro -- when he earned the overall win at the Mt. Hood Classic. Mach is expected to contribute even more to the team’s success in 2010.  "Paul has really stepped up his tactical skills over the course of the season,” says Wohlberg. “We are looking forward to his 2010 race season with great anticipation.”
Rounding out the roster are three riders who have demonstrated that they are the future of competitive cycling in this country. Cody O’Reilly will be returning to BISSELL after a great year of riding support for the team and is sure to have a bright future.  New to the team in 2010 will be Daniel Holloway, who comes to BISSELL from the Felt-Holowesko-Garmin U23 Team. Holloway had wins both on U.S. and European soil this year and is also a respected track competitor, having achieved four first-place wins at the 2008 Elite Track Nationals. Newcomer David Williams will ride with the BISSELL Team in his first year as a professional cyclist.  Williams has posted outstanding local results in Michigan, where he is currently the state time trial champion. Williams also wrapped up his 2009 season with exceptional results on the track, where he recently won the men’s individual omnium, 4k pursuit and team pursuit at the U.S. Collegiate Track Nationals.
“In shaping our 2010 roster, we have bolstered our finishing speed across the board and this will now complement the team’s fantastic time trialing ability,” says Wohlberg. “Our new acquisitions are very gifted riders, who specialize in sprint finishes and are known commodities with regard to mixing it up all day long. We are all very excited for the 2010 season to get underway and anticipate some great days on the podium.

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment