Sorensen Wins Stage 8 of Giro

News & Results

05/18/2010| 0 comments
by Gerald Churchill

Sorensen Wins Stage 8 of Giro

Chris Anker Sorensen (Saxo Bank) has won Stage 8 of the Giro.

Chris Anker Sorensen (Saxo Bank) has won Stage 8 of the Giro. The Danish climber surged away from his breakaway companions on the day's final climb to win the mountainous, 189-km ride from Chianciano to Monte Terminillo in 4:50:48. Simone Stortoni (Colnago) finished second at 0:30, and Xavier Tondo (Cervelo) took third at 0:36. Alexander Vinokourov (Astana) remains the maglia rosa.

The day's big break took time to form. The peloton breasted the day's first climb, the Category 3 Valico di Monte Nibbio (46.7 km), intact. During the next 20 km, a series of attacks caused the peloton to split. A group of 17 riders broke off from the first group and led the field by about three minutes on the Category 3 Marmore (138.6 km). Lampre rode tempo at the head of the first group and pegged the lead. At the base of Monte Terminillo (172 km), the bunch led the break by 3:20. 

Acqua & Sapone and BMC joined Lampre at the front of the first part of the peloton. Sorensen attacked his breakaway companions with 14 km left. They reeled him in, but Simone Stortoni (Colnago) attacked, and the Dane followed that move. With six km remaining, Sorensen dropped the Italian.

Behind, skirmishing took place, but it did not affect the general classification. Charly Wegelius (Omega Pharma) attacked, but he did not forge much of a lead. With four km left, Michele Scarponi (Androni Giocattoli) attacked, but all of the maglia rosa group except Carlos Sastre (Cervelo) stayed with him. Tondo then sallied away for third place.

In the overall, Vinokourov leads Cadel Evans (BMC) by 1:12 and Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas) by 1:30. Stage 9, a flat, 187-km stage from Frosinone to Cava de' Tirreni, will not change this state of affairs. It should end in a bunch sprint. Who will take it? Tyler Farrar (Garmin)? Andre Greipel (Columbia)? Check in at and find out!

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment