Ben Swift Joins Team Sky

News & Results

01/4/2010| 0 comments
by Thomas A. Valentinsen

Ben Swift Joins Team Sky

Swift completes 2010 Team Sky roster.

Ben Swift will join Team Sky as its final rider for the team's 2010 roster.

In 2009, 22-year old Ben Swift enjoyed a debut professional season that many riders would dream of. He finished a Grand Tour and the Giro d'Italia, and he scored a win and a string of top ten placings, including a top three finish in a stage of the Giro.

Swift's apprenticeship was served with the British Cycling Academy, under the guidance of Rod Ellingworth and Max Sciandri and he is now joins Team Sky after one year with the Russian team Katusha.

Ben Swift commented "I'm really pleased with my first season. But I think I'm more surprised than pleased. I never expected to ride the Giro, then to get placings there, and to finish; that's what I was most happy about."

"I'm massively grateful to Katusha for the opportunities they gave me," Swift added, "but coming to Team Sky feels like coming home because I know so many of the support staff and riders. I will be in the perfect environment to grow as a rider with Team Sky."

For Team Sky manager Dave Brailsford, Swift is a valuable addition to an already impressive line-up. He said; "Ben is a real talent and his future looks bright because he ticks all the boxes that it takes to make it in this sport. He's extremely serious, skilled on bike, he can climb and sprint and I really believe he can go far with us. We've worked quite some time with him on the track and I think the next years could be a massive breakthrough for him on the road as well".
Ben Swift is the 26th rider to be secured for Team Sky.  He will now be one of eight British riders - with Bradley Wiggins, Geraint Thomas, Steve Cummings, Pete Kennaugh, Chris Froome, Ian Stannard and Russell Downing - in an international line-up.  Alongside them are; Davide Vigano, Dario Cioni, Morris Possoni [all Italy], Edvald Boasson Hagen, Kurt Asle Arvesen, Lars Petter Nordhaug [Norway], Chris Sutton, Simon Gerrans, Mathew Hayman [Australia], Sylvain Calzati, Nicolas Portal [France], Thomas Löfkvist [Sweden], Kjell Carlstrom [Finland], John Lee Augustyn [South Africa], Juan Antonio Flecha [Spain], Michael Barry [Canada], Greg Henderson [New Zealand], and Serge Pauwels [Belgium].

Check out team sponsor Sky online.

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment