BMC Racing Team Announces Final 2010 Roster

News & Results

12/8/2009| 0 comments
by Thomas A. Valentinsen

BMC Racing Team Announces Final 2010 Roster

Expects an aggressive 2010 Racing Season.

Team BMC Racing has announced that its roster for the 2010 season has been finalized.

"Management has assembled an outstanding group of athletes capable of competing anywhere. It will be a pleasure to see them in action with the best teams in the world next season," said Team BMC President Jim Ochowicz. For 2010 the BMC Racing Team roster boasts current World Professional Road Champion from Australia, Cadel Evans, ex-World Professional Road Champion from Italy, Alessandro Ballan, as well as current US National Professional Road Champion, George Hincapie.

The final roster also includes other notable riders of great promise. "The past two seasons we have grown into a strong team, and combining that with the big recruitment effort we have made this year, we expect to be competitive in every race we enter from the one day classics, to the one week stage races to the Grand Tours," the team's Directeur Sportif John Lelangue added.

The team will consist of 23 riders from seven different countries and an additional three riders competing at the U23 level. Some of the new team members are among the most experienced and respected in the pro road cycling peloton and the team will have a solid core of young talents to build on for the future.

Team BMC Racing has applied for UCI Pro Continental and Wild Card status again for 2010, which - if granted - will make them eligible for invitations to all of the prestige events they will want to target. "We want to be at all the big races, though of course there are no guarantees," Lelangue admitted. "But I am sure we have the organization to be competitive if we get the chance, and that is a huge satisfaction."

2010 BMC Racing Team Roster:
Alessandro Ballan (IT)
Chris Barton (USA)
Chad Beyer (USA)
Brent Bookwalter (USA)
Marcus Burghardt(GER)
Cadel Evans (AUS)
Mathias Frank (SUI)
Thomas Frei (SUI)
George Hincapie (USA)
Martin Kohler (SUI)
Alexander Kristoff (NOR)
Karsten Kroon (NED)
Jeff Louder (USA)
Steve Morabito (SUI)
Alex Moos (SUI)
John Murphy (USA)
Scott Nydam (USA)
Mauro Santambrogio (IT)
Michael Schär (SUI)
Florian Stalder (SUI)
Jackson Stewart (USA)
Danilo Wyss (SUI)
Simon Zahner (SUI)

U23 Team Members:
Chris Butler (USA)
Cole House (USA)
Larry Warbasse (USA)

Chief Sports Director:
John Lelangue (BEL)

Assistant Sports Directors:
Fabio Baldato (IT)
Noel Dejonckheere (BEL)
René Savary (SUI)
Mike Sayers (USA)

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment