Tour Down Under Results - Stage 4

News & Results

01/24/2003| 0 comments
by Thomas Valentinsen

Tour Down Under Results - Stage 4

Cooke takes stage; Sacchi leads overall

to fade. "I think Saeco (team of race leader Fabio SACCHI) controlled it really well and just left me out there to blow myself up."

But the bunch did not aggressively chase LAIDLER down. In fact several riders including O'GRADY, McEWEN and SACCHI said after the stage they thought the young rider deserved the win but LAIDLER did not have the energy to go on in front.

"At the end they just wound it up when I had no legs to bring it home," he said. "But it was definitely worth a shot."

His efforts were appreciated those who lined today's route and as LAIDLER went through Goolwa for the first time the fans who had flocked to the town gave him a rousing reception.

He was caught at the approach to the climb at Macfarlane Hill (132km) where Denmark's Lennie KRISTENSEN (CSC) was first over the summit to increase his lead in the Laubman & Pank King of the Mountain classification.

The next time the field entered Goolwa it was fifty riders in a group speeding down Cadell Street.

At the end of the day Italian Fabio SACCHI held on to the Jacob's Creek Leader's jersey but his margin over McEWEN is now eight seconds.

Stage 4 - January 24, 2003: Unley - Goolwa, 144 km:

1 Baden Cooke (Aus)                       3.33.59 (40.4 km/h)
2 Graeme Brown (Aus) Panaria Fiordo
3 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Credit Agricole
4 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Lotto Domo
5 Ashley Hutchinson (Aus) United Water
6 Tom Boonen (Bel) Quickstep-Davitamon
7 Luke Roberts (Aus) UniSA
8 Mark Scanlon (Irl) Ag2R
9 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est)  Ag2R
10 Allan Davis (Aus) ONCE Eroski
11 Mikel Astarloza (Spa) Ag2R
12 Andy Flickinger (Fra) Ag2R
13 Stefen Wesemann (Ger) Telekom
14 Mark Renshaw (Aus) United Water
15 Brendan Cato (Aus) United Water
16 Nicolas Portal (Fra) Ag2R
17 Andrea Tafi (Ita) CSC
18 Dirk Reichl (Ger) Telekom
19 Gene Bates (Aus) UniSA
20 Cedric Herve (Fra) Credit Agricole
21 Christian Pepoli (Ita) Saeco-Longoni Sport
22 Xavier Florencio (Spa) ONCE Eroski
23 David Canada (Spa) Quickstep-Davitamon
24 Bobby Julich (USA)  Telekom
25 Christopher Jenner (NZl) Credit Agricole
26 Michael Rogers (Aus) Quickstep-Davitamon
27 Fabio Sacchi (Ita) Saeco-Longoni Sport
28 Hans De Clercq (Bel) Lotto Domo
29 Gianpaolo Caruso (Ita) ONCE Eroski
30 Lennie Kristensen (Den) CSC
31 Erki Putsep (Est) Ag2R
32 Kurt Van De Wouwer (Bel) Quickstep-Davitamon
33 Paolo Lanfranchi (Ita) Panaria Fiordo
34 Daniele Nardello (Ita) Telekom
35 Patrick Jonker (Aus) UniSA
36 Russell Van Hout (Aus) UniSA
37 Joerg Ludewig (Ger) Saeco-Longoni Sport
38 Cadel Evans (Aus) Telekom
39 Brad McGee (Aus)
40 Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Ag2R
41 Angel Vicioso (Spa) ONCE Eroski
42 Stefan Schumacher (Ger)  Telekom
43 Christian Werner (Ger)  Telekom
44 Inigo Chaurreau (Spa) Ag2R
45 Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) ONCE Eroski
46 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Credit Agricole
47 Tristan Hoffman (Ned) CSC
48 Geert Van Bondt (Bel) CSC
49 Kai Hundertmarck (Ger)  Telekom                      0.10
50 Bernhard Eisel (Aut)                      0.14
51 Regis Lhuillier (Fra)                     0.16
52 Igor Astarloa (Spa) Saeco-Longoni Sport              0.23
53 Arvis Piziks (Lat) CSC                              


Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment