Majka Wins Stage 17 of Tour de France

News & Results

07/24/2014| 0 comments
by Gerald Churchill
Vincenzo Nibali remains Tour de France general classification leader before tomorrow's stage 18 Fotoreporter Sirotti

Majka Wins Stage 17 of Tour de France

Rafal Majka (Tinkoff-Saxo Bank) has won Stage 17 of the Tour de France.

Rafal Majka (Tinkoff-Saxo Bank) has won Stage 17 of the Tour de France 2014. The Pole took his second stage win of this Tour, as well as his team’s second consecutive stage win, by surging into the lead on the hors categorie climb to the finish. The Tinkoff-Saxo Bank man won the stage in 3:35:23, with Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) and Vincenzo Nibali (Astana - Specialized bikes) finishing second and third, respectively, at 0:29 and 0:46. Nibali used the 124.5-km mountain stage from Saint-Gaudens to Saint-Lary-Soulan Pia d'Adet to  hammer more nails into the coffins of his competition and extend his overall lead.

From the start, the racing was aggressive. Cyril Gautier and Yukio Arashiro (both from Europcar), Tom Jelte Slagter (Garmin-Sharp), Martin Elmiger (IAM Cycling), Nicolas Edet (Cofidis), Biel Kadri (Ag2r-La Mondiale), Jens Voigt (Trek), and Sergio Paulinho (Tinkoff-Saxo Bank) formed the break of the day. Katusha went to the front of the peloton on behalf of Joaquim Rodriguez, who was second in the mountain competition. The escapees never led the field by more than a minute.

On the day’s first climb, the Category 1 Col de Portillon, Astana led the bunch. Rodriguez attacked from the peloton to join the break, which was disintegrating. He took a number of riders with him, and his bridging up to the break created a 21-man lead group. Among the leaders was Majka, who led the mountain competition by one point. He and Rodriguez sparred with each other until Tinkoff-Saxo Bank maestro Bjarne Riis called him back. At this point, a lead group that consisted of Rodriguez, Bauke Mollema (Belkin), Nicolas Roche (Tinkoff-Saxo Bank), Kristijan Durasek (Lampre-Merida), David Lopez (Sky), and Alessandro De Marchi (Cannondale) formed. At the summit, the Rodriguez group led a large chase group, with the peloton, which was shedding riders, about a minute in arrears.

On the descent, the chase group bridged up to the lead group. The new lead group consisted of Pierre Rolland, Gautier, and Arashiro (all from Europcar); Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Lotto-Belisol); Frank Schleck (Trek); Peter Velits and Amael Moinard (both from BMC); Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Shimano); Jakob Fuglsang (Astana); Jon Izagirre, Jesus Herrada, and Giovanni Visconti (all from Movistar); David Lopez Garcia and Vasili Kiryienka (both from Sky); Biel Kadri (Ag2r-La Mondiale); Rein Taaramae (Cofidis); Bauke Mollema (Belkin); Majka and Nicolas Roche (both from Tinkoff-Saxo Bank); Rodríguez (Katusha),  Durasek (Lampre-Merida); and De Marchi (Cannondale). At the base of the descent, the break led the bunch by 1:42.

Kiriyienka attacked. On the Category 1 Col de Peyresourde, the Sky man led the closest chase group by 1:30 and the peloton by 2:58. Mollema attacked the rest of the break, and Roche and Herrada attempted to bridge up to Kiriyienka. At the summit, the Belarusian led a chase group that contained Rodriguez and Majka by 1:48 and the peloton by more than four minutes. The Rodriguez group caught Roche and Herrada on the approach to the day’s penultimate climb, the Category 1 Col du Val Louron-Azet.

On the Col du Val Louron-Azet, the race began to knot up. The Rodriguez


Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment