Champion System Team with five national champions in 2013 roster

News & Results

12/10/2012| 0 comments
by Mark Watson

Champion System Team with five national champions in 2013 roster

The Champion System Pro Cycling Team will count five reigning national champions among its 2013 roster, including new signees Irish road cycling champion Matt Brammeier, South Korean road champion Chan Jae Jang and Japanese time trial champion Ryota Nishizono.

this year's Tour de Hokkaido and comes to Champion System from the Bridgestone-Anchor team. He was the winner of Stage 1 and race leader for a day at the Tour de Hokkaido in 2011.

"I am very happy to be joining Champion System Team as an Asian rider," Nishizono said. "The team gives me great opportunity to be a world-class cyclist and I feel the responsibility to show Asian riders have the potential to compete the highest level races. I would like to contribute largely to the team with my hill climbing ability and toughness in stage races."

The re-signing of Xu, a four-time national road champion for China (2007, 2008, 2009 and 2012), will be celebrated at Wednesday's official team launch at Science Park Hong Kong. A press conference at 7 p.m. will be followed by a fun ride at 8 o'clock. Xu finished third on Stage 4 of the Tour of Japan and is a past stage winner at the Tour de Korea.

"I'd like to thank the team for giving me a platform to showcase myself and for helping me when I was having difficulty," he said. "My teammates and the team staff helped me blend in very fast and become more mature. For 2013, I hope the team can offer me more support and help me get even closer to my dream."

Champion System, a leading Hong Kong-based custom cycling clothing manufacturer with offices in New York, was the first cycling apparel company to both own and be title sponsor of an elite international team. In 2013, the team will race in the company's new Razor Lite jersey.

"It's the most technically advanced jersey we have ever made, featuring multi-panel construction and state-of-the-art fabrics," Champion System Vice President of Sales and Marketing Charlie Issendorf said. "It's now part of our custom line, so it's available to all our customers."

Champion System won five races in its inaugural season – two of them coming from Will Clarke (Stage 2 of the Santos Tour Down Under and the prologue of the Tour of Japan). Craig Lewis won Stage 2 of the Tour de Beauce and Clinton Avery won the BaseCamp International race presented by Verizon Wireless. Beamon said the team's final race of the season exemplified how far the Asian riders came in their first season. At the Tour of Fuzhou in China, Champion System placed four riders in the top 15 to win the team classification, best Asian team and Greater China team honors.

“Our first year did not come without challenge," Champion System Executive Manager Louis Shih said. "But we are happy and felt that our first effort in establishing a pro cycling culture in Asia is well rewarded. My congratulations to our team at Tour of Fuzhou. Their good result is a great way to end our first season.”

The latest signings add to those previously announced - Canadians Ryan Anderson and Roth, American Chad Beyer, German Fabian Schnaidt and Dutchman Bobbie Traksel. Non-Asian riders returning from the 2012 roster include Clinton Avery of New Zealand, Americans

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment