Cancellara Wins Paris-Roubaix

News & Results

04/10/2006| 0 comments
by Gerald Churchill
Fabian Cancellara (Team CSC) takes the win in Roubaix. Photo copyright Fotoreporter Sirotti.
Fabian Cancellara (Team CSC) takes the win in Roubaix. Photo copyright Fotoreporter Sirotti.

Cancellara Wins Paris-Roubaix

Fabian Cancellara (CSC) has won Paris-Roubaix.

Fabian Cancellara (CSC) has won Paris-Roubaix. The Swiss classics man and time triallist surged away from eight companions to win the 259-km Hell of the North in 6:07:54. After the disqualifications of three riders, defending champion Tom Boonen (Quick Step) took second, and Alessandro Ballan (Lampre) finished third.



At the start, sun and a northwest wind greeted the riders. From the start, the pace was fast. At 17 km , Marc De Maar (Rabobank), Tristan Valentin (Cofidis), and Stephan Schreck (T-Mobile) made the day?s first attack. The bunch reeled in the trio quickly. In the peloton, Discovery Channel hopeful George Hincapie crashed at 31 km . He was not injured, but the mishap was a bad omen.


At 62 km , Joost Posthuma (Rabobank), Nicolas Portal (Caisse d?Epargne), Schreck, and Dmitri Konyshev (LPR) escaped. At about 85 km , Marco Righetto (Liquigas), Stephane Berges (Agritubel), and Iker Flores (Euskaltel) set out after the quartet. When the fugitives reached Sector 27, the first of 27 sectors of pave, at 98 km , they led the chase group by 1:20 and the peloton by 2:05.


Frank Hoj (Gerolsteiner) bridged up to the chasers. At 130 km , the leading quartet had 4:48 on the pursuing one. T-Mobile, Discovery Channel, Davitamon, and Quick Step began to chase. At 127 km , Davitamon lost a man when Tom Steels crashed and broke his collarbone.


As the Arenberg Trench approached, the bunch accelerated and jostled for position. In the front, Portal crashed, and in the bunch Sebastien Minard (Cofidis) followed suit. Gent-Wevelgem champion Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole) punctured and saw his chances ride up the road.


Boonen led the charge into the Arenberg, with Hincapie, Gert Steegmans (Davitamon), and Cancellara in attendance. Cancellara accelerated and led the group past Posthuma, Schreck, and Portal. The combustion created a lead group of 17 riders. They were 2003 Paris-Roubaix winner Peter Van Petegem (Davitamon); Steegmans, Hincapie, Leif Hoste, and Vladimir Gusev (both from Discovery Channel); Cancellara and Lars Michaelsen (both from CSC); Boonen; Steffen Wesemann and Stephan Schreck (both from T-Mobile); 1997 Hell of the North champion Frederic Guesdon and Bernhard Eisel (both from Francaise des Jeux); Posthuma and Juan Antonio Flecha (both from Rabobank); Portal; and Ballan and Enrico Franzoi (both from Lampre). Quick Step saw the danger in Boonen being without teammates and tried to send Filippo Pozzato forward, but the Italian could not reach the team captain.


The group accelerated, and Schreck, Posthuma, Franzoi, and Portal were dropped. Discovery Channel did much of the driving, and Michaelsen worked hard for Cancellara.


With 57 km left, Flecha accelerated and dropped Wesemann and Steegmans. Ten km later, at Mons-en-Pevele, Cancellara attacked and shed more riders. With 31 km , the pave broke another contender?s heart and dreams. Hincapie?s steerer tube broke, and the American toppled to the cobbles. He has shoulder injuries that require surgery, but Hincapie?s real injuries are emotional. He sat by the side of the road and wept as his chances rode away from him.


Flecha and


Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment