Vuelta a Murcia Results - Stage 3

News & Results

03/7/2008| 0 comments
by Thomas Valentinsen

Vuelta a Murcia Results - Stage 3

Heado wins stage as Perez Arrieta holds onto overall lead.

Juan José Haedo showed great strength in the sprint at the end of the 146-kilometer third stage of Vuelta Ciclista a Murcia from Puerto Lumbreras to San Pedro del Pinatar and the Argentinean won no contest.
"He was tremendous in that finish. He knew exactly where to position himself in relation to Graeme Brown and I actually think he’s the strongest out of all the sprinters down here with both this victory today and the one on Sunday," said sports director Dan Frost after the stage.
"We’d actually hoped to be part of a break today, but six guys escaped early on and we had to do some hard work in the peloton in stead. Things were pretty much under control though and when it came to the sprint the whole team did a great job of lining JJ up," explained Dan Frost.
The overall standings were unchanged ahead of Friday’s time trial. The race finishes on Saturday with a stage, where there is a small but difficult climb towards the end. Will Contador strike again - or is it Valverde time? Stay tuned to to find out!

Please visit our sponsors, thank you.

Stage 3: March 6, 2008: Puerto Lumbreras - San Pedro del Pinatar (145 km):
1 Juan José Haedo (Arg) Team CSC       03:31:08
2 Koldo Fernández (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi                           
3 Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank                                         
4 Giuseppe Palumbo (Ita) Acqua Sapone - Caffe Mokambo                 
5 Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Andalucía - Cajasur            
6 Nikolay Trusov (Rus) Tinkoff Credit Systems                         
7 Diego Milán Jiménez (Spa) Acqua Sapone - Caffe Mokambo              
8 Ricardo Serrano González (Spa) Tinkoff Credit Systems               
9 Vasili Kiryienka (Blr) Tinkoff Credit Systems                       
10 David Garcia Dapena (Spa) Karpin Galicia                           
11 Manuel Vazquez Hueso (Spa) Contentpolis - Murcia                   
12 Inaki Isasi Flores (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi                       
13 Luis Pasamontes Rodriguez (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne                   
14 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Acqua Sapone - Caffe Mokambo                
15 Iban Mayoz (Spa) Karpin Galicia                                    
16 José Herrada Lopez (Spa) Contentpolis - Murcia                     
17 César Quiteiro (Por) Liberty Seguros                               
18 Arnaud Coyot (Fra) Caisse d'Epargne                                
19 Evgeny Petrov (Rus) Tinkoff Credit Systems                         
20 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Astana                              
21 Javier Moreno Bazan (Spa) Andalucía - Cajasur                      
22 Gustavo Dominguez Lemos (Spa) Karpin Galicia                       
23 Aitor Perez Arrieta (Spa) Extremadura-Gruppo Gallardo              
24 Xabat Otxotorena (Spa) Extremadura-Gruppo Gallardo                 
25 Eloy Teruel Rovira (Spa) Contentpolis - Murcia                     
26 Ezequiel Mosquera Miguez (Spa) Karpin Galicia                      
27 José Luis Carrasco Gamiz (Spa) Andalucía - Cajasur                 
28 Gonzalo Zambrano Calderon (Spa) Extremadura-Gruppo Gallardo        
29 Isidro Nozal Vega (Spa) Liberty Seguros                            
30 Ignacio Sarabia Diaz (Mex) Extremadura-Gruppo Gallardo             
31 Benjamin Noval Gonzalez (Spa) Astana                               
32 Massimo Codol (Ita) Acqua Sapone - Caffe Mokambo                   
33 Sergio Domínguez Muñoz (Spa) Contentpolis - Murcia                 
34 Jorge Azanza Soto (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi                        
35 Francisco Perez Sanchez (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne                     
36 Massimiliano Gentili (Ita) Acqua Sapone - Caffe Mokambo            
37 Yon Bru Pascal (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi                           
38 David Herrero Llorente (Spa) Karpin Galicia                        
39 Javier Etxarri Marin (Spa) Contentpolis - Murcia                   
40 Alexander Serov (Rus) Tinkoff Credit Systems                       
41 Maxim


Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment