USA Cycling Announces Final Three 2008 U.S. Olympic Team Members

News & Results

07/10/2008| 0 comments
by Thomas Valentinsen

USA Cycling Announces Final Three 2008 U.S. Olympic Team Members

Neben and Thorburn added to road squad, McConneloug rounds out mountain bike team.

to contend for medals or otherwise raise the level of our team’s performance in major international races.  Their addition to the Olympic Team makes the 2008 squad one of the strongest in recent memory.”  

Also confirmed on Thursday was a discretionary nomination for Sarah Hammer (Temecula, Calif.) to compete in the women’s points race.  On July 1, Hammer was announced as an automatic qualifier for the individual pursuit.

All nominations are subject to the approval of the United States Olympic Committee.

Members of the media can download a copy of the USA Cycling 2008 Olympic Media Guide from USA Cycling’s website.

2008 Olympic Games
Beijing, China
August 8-24

Final USA Cycling Nominees:

Men’s Road
1. George Hincapie, 35 (Greenville, S.C., Team Columbia) Road Race
2. Levi Leipheimer, 34 (Santa Rosa, Calif., Team Astana) Road Race, Time Trial
3. Jason McCartney, 34 (Coralville, Iowa) Road Race
4. Christian Vande Velde, 32 (Boulder, Colo., Team Garmin-Chipotle) Road Race
5. David Zabriskie, 29 (Salt Lake City, Utah, Team Garmin-Chipotle) Road Race, Time Trial

Women’s Road
1. Kristin Armstrong, 34 (Boise, Idaho) Road Race, Time Trial
2. Amber Neben, 34 (Irvine, Calif.) Road Race
3. Christine Thorburn, 38 (Sunnyvale, Calif.) Road Race, Time Trial

Men’s Track
1. Michael Blatchford, 22 (Cypress, Calif.) Team Sprint, Match Sprint
2. Adam Duvendeck, 26 (Santa Barbara, Calif.) Team Sprint
3. Michael Friedman, 25 (Pittsburgh, Pa.) Madison
4. Bobby Lea, 24 (Mertztown, Pa.) Points Race, Madison
5. Giddeon Massie, 26 (Zionhill, Pa.) Team Sprint
6. Taylor Phinney, 18 (Boulder, Colo.) Individual Pursuit
*The United States also has one start position in the men’s Keirin. The athlete who will contest the Keirin will be announced at a later date.

Women’s Track
1. Sarah Hammer, 24 (Temecula, Calif.) Individual Pursuit, Points Race
2. Jennie Reed, 30 (Kirkland, Wash.) Match Sprint

Men’s Mountain Bike
1. Adam Craig, 26 (Bend, Ore.)
2. Todd Wells, 32 (Durango, Colo.)

Women’s Mountain Bike
1. Georgia Gould, 28 (Ketchum, Idaho)
2. Mary McConneloug, 37 (Chilmark, Mass.)

Men’s Bicycle Motocross (BMX)
1. Kyle Bennett, 28 (Conroe, Texas)
2. Mike Day, 23 (Santa Clarita, Calif.)
3. Donny Robinson, 25 (Napa, Calif.)

Women’s Bicycle Motocross (BMX)
1. Jill Kintner, 26 (Seattle, Wash.)


Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment