2008 Tour of Germany Results - Prologue

News & Results

08/29/2008| 0 comments
by Thomas Valentinsen

2008 Tour of Germany Results - Prologue

Lancaster wins prologue and leads overall.

Team Milram's Brett Lancaster won the 3.6 kilometer prologue in Kitzbühel to open the Deutschland Tour. The Australian took the win in a time of 3.59 minutes, only a few hundredths of a second faster than the Swede Gustav Erik Larsson (Team CSC - Saxo Bank) and German Geral Ciolek of Team Columbia. With this opening win, the 28 year-old naturally claimed the lead in the general classification and will wear the yellow jersey in the Deutschland Tour's Queen Stage tomorrow.

After the finish stage winner Brett Lancaster told Roadcycling.com that "It was a perfect race today. I came directly here from the Olympic track events and so I had an optimal preparation for the curving, challenging course. It is fantastic to have won here. Now I will wear the yellow jersey in the mountains. It will certainly be a very special Queen Stage for me, even though the mountains aren't my thing."

Prologue: August 29, 2008: Tour of Germany: Kitzbühel - Kitzbühel (3.6 km IP):
1 Brett Lancaster (Aus) Team Milram      00:03:59
2 Gustav Erik Larsson (Swe) Team CSC - Saxo Bank                
3 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Team Columbia                          0.02
4 Markus Fothen (Ger) Gerolsteiner                           0.03
5 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Crédit Agricole                         0.04
6 William Bonnet (Fra) Crédit Agricole                          
7 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) Team Columbia                           
8 Björn Schröder (Ger) Team Milram                              
9 Gregory Rast (Swi) Astana                                     
10 Maxime Monfort (Bel) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone    0.05
11 Thomas Lövkvist (Swe) Team Columbia                          
12 Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Team Columbia                           
13 Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Liquigas                          
14 Mauro Da Dalto (Ita) Liquigas                                
15 Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) Française des Jeux                     
16 Olaf Pollack (Ger) Team Volksbank                         0.06
17 Christian Knees (Ger) Team Milram                            
18 Bert Grabsch (Ger) Team Columbia                             
19 Albert Timmer (Ned) Skil-Shimano                             
20 Mirco Lorenzetto (Ita) Lampre                                
21 Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Caisse d'Epargne                      
22 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Quick Step                        0.07
23 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Caisse d'Epargne                        
24 Hubert Schwab (Swi) Quick Step                               
25 Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank                                  
26 André Greipel (Ger) Team Columbia                            
27 Aitor Hernandez Gutierrez (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi          
28 Thomas Fothen (Ger) Gerolsteiner                          0.08
29 Gerrit Glomser (Aut) Team Volksbank                          
30 Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Astana                                 
31 René Haselbacher (Aut) Astana                                
32 Paul Martens (Ger) Rabobank                               0.09
33 Julien El Farès (Fra) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone      
34 Bernhard Kohl (Aut) Gerolsteiner                             
35 Julien Belgy (Fra) Bouygues Telecom                          
36 Andreas Dietziker (Swi) Team Volksbank                       
37 Laszlo Bodrogi (Hun) Crédit Agricole                         
38 Tony Martin (Ger) Team Columbia                           0.10
39 Peter Velits (Svk) Team Milram                               
40 René Weissinger (Ger) Team Volksbank                         
41 Marcus Burghardt (Ger) Team Columbia                         
42 Markel Irizar Aranburu (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi             
43 Pieter Weening (Ned) Rabobank                                
44 Juan José Oroz Ugalde (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi              
45 William Walker (Aus) Rabobank                             0.11
46 Michael Schär (Swi) Astana                                   
47 Markus Eichler (Ger) Team Milram                             
48 Rémi Pauriol (Fra) Crédit Agricole                        0.12
49 Jason McCartney (USA) Team CSC - Saxo Bank                   
50 Daniel Navarro Garcia (Spa) Astana                           
51 Perrig Quemeneur (Fra) Bouygues Telecom                      
52 Jens Voigt (Ger) Team CSC - Saxo Bank                        
53 Alexandr Pliuschin (Mda) AG2R La Mondiale                    
54 Robert


Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment