2008 Tirreno-Adriatico Results - Stage 7

News & Results

03/18/2008| 0 comments
by Thomas Valentinsen

2008 Tirreno-Adriatico Results - Stage 7

Chicchi kicks back; Cancellara wins 2008 Tirreno-Adriatico.

Fabian Cancellara secured himself the perfect birthday present, when the strong Swiss rider took the overall victory in the big Italian stage race Tirreno-Adriatico.
The final stage – a 176-kilometer route with start and finish in San Benedetto del Tronto – was won by Francesco Chicchi (Liquigas) ahead of Danilo Napolitano (Lampre). It started to rain during the final laps so Team CSC had to be careful to avoid any further crashes and at the same time try to maintain the overall lead and luckily the mission was accomplished.
"I didn’t actually come to Tirreno expecting to win the race, but when the opportunity came along of course I went for it. It’s an important victory in itself and it’s a great result for both me and the team," said Fabian Cancellara following the last stage and continued:
"It got a bit tough towards the end, when it started to rain, but luckily everything went according to plan and we have every reason to celebrate tonight. And after that I’ve got a couple of days to rest before Milano-Sanremo."
Regarding Milano-Sanremo the Swiss Team CSC rider had the following comment:
"I don’t consider myself a favorite for this race – after all it almost always ends up being a sprinter’s finish. But of course should the opportunity arise we’ll play our cards as best we can," concluded Cancellara.
Team CSC sports director Lars Michaelsen added:
"There’s no doubt that to be able to win a race like Tirreno-Adriatico takes both a certain amount of skill as well as a good portion of stubbornness. But although you possess those qualities you also have to have your team behind you otherwise it won’t work, which was the case for us. This is a great indication for the oncoming races and it just goes to show that Team CSC also has a number of other brilliant riders besides Fabian."
"This victory is the best possible kick-off ahead of the classics. It’s given us a great confidence boost and lifted our spirits in a big way," said Lars Michaelsen.

Stage 7: March 18, 2008: S. Benedetto del Tronto - S. Benedetto del Tronto (175 km):
1 Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Liquigas       04:50:50
2 Danilo Napolitano (Ita) Lampre                                                     
3 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team High Road                                                
4 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Silence - Lotto                                                
5 Danilo Hondo (Ita) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Androni Giocattoli                 
6 Ariel Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) CSF Group Navigare                                 
7 Alexandre Usov (Blr) AG2r - La Mondiale                                            
8 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne                                      
9 Erik Zabel (Ger) Team Milram                                                       
10 Baden Cooke (Aus) Barloworld                                                      
11 Mickael Delage (Fra) Française des Jeux                                           
12 Christopher Sutton (Aus) Slipstream Chipotle Presented By H30                     
13 Marco Bandiera (Ita) Lampre                                                       
14 Pedro Horrillo Munoz (Spa) Rabobank                                               
15 Ruben Perez Moreno (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi                                      
16 Gorik Gardeyn (Bel) Silence - Lotto                                               
17 Steven De Jongh (Ned) Quick Step                                                  
18 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Team CSC                                                     
19 Patrick Calcagni (Swi) Barloworld                                                 
20 Renaud Dion (Fra) AG2r - La Mondiale                                              
21 Niklas Axelsson (Swe) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Androni


Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment